• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help First post, go easy on me, New Galaxy S3 First Android.

pjw73nh

Oct 15, 2012
Hello,

I apologize in advance for being long winded.

I need a little (lot) of assistance with my new ATT Galaxy S3. I've got 12 days left before my return period runs out. After about a 10 hour time investment. I've got the S3 at least functional. Email (Gmail), Google voice,

Background. I have many years of experience in IT. Several certifications. I am a recent (1 day ago) Android convert. I have no android experience. Been on Iphone 3gs & 4 for a few years. I use my phone for: 1. Email. 2. Phone. 3. Camera. 4. Texting. 5. Web surfing. 6. Very few apps. In that order.

Reason for crossing over:

iPhone likes: Always works, never crashes, simple to use, safely trust apps, Bright screen, Looooong battery life. With good power saving practices I can get 3-4 days on my iphone between charges.

iPhone dislikes: **Screen too small**, very little control over OS, files (music, photos), settings etc., poor voice quality.
----------------------------
What I need....

#1. This is a deal breaker for me. Email (body) font is too small for my (not so good) eyes even on the "huge" setting. They don't expand with a screen stretch (zoom) either. If I could get the emails to stretch/zoom, that would probably wok. This is the number one reason I switched. I use the built in Gmail app that came with it. I am not averse to getting a different email app if necessary.