• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Please help to root no name android tx box.

andybadyfu

Lurker
Aug 20, 2013
Hi, wondering if anyone might be able to help me get root access on my new no name android tv box I bought off ebay.

The system info reads: Model Number: MBX reference board (g18ref)
Android version: 4.2.2
Kernel Version: 3.0.50 menghua@debian-ruipai#1 Mon Jul 22 19:09:00 HKT 2013
Build Number: JDQ39.20130722

Ive tried a few methods like z4root, super one click, rootx, with no luck. I have also tried to install universal android drivers, thinking this might be the problem or at least help me along, but my attempts failed. Obviously I'm a noob. I have successfully gained root access on several hand sets in the past but this one has got me stumped. Any help/ guide would be most appreciated. Thanks

Just go to XDA forum and check this post, download the Matricom image and you are set. Its for HD 18 v2.21 (Generic MX tv box 1gb / 8gb, also known as g18ref box or mx2ref box or an android TV Box or a generic MX Droid TV etc.

The image is ROOTED and flashing it UNBRICKS a device in case it is bricked.

http;//forum,xda-developers,com/showpost,php?p=45502307&postcount=12

replace ; with :
replace , with .

Can't post links yet.

Upvote 0
Hi, wondering if anyone might be able to help me get root access on my new no name android tv box I bought off ebay.

Ive tried a few methods like z4root, super one click, rootx, with no luck. I have also tried to install universal android drivers, thinking this might be the problem or at least help me along, but my attempts failed. Obviously I'm a noob. I have successfully gained root access on several hand sets in the past but this one has got me stumped. Any help/ guide would be most appreciated. Thanks
Have u been accessi g my accounts

Upvote 0

i have same android tv box please help me if you have gotten solution

Upvote 0