• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Tethering with US Cellular Portable Modem

jlmurren

Lurker
Nov 20, 2011
I am brand new to this android tablet. I have a portable modem with US Cellular. It plugs into the UBS on my laptop. I called them and asked if I could tether between my laptop and my android tablet. The said no because I had to have a US Cell tablet. When I go to my wi-fi settings on the tablet it shows my laptop but it is secured with a password. I asked USC if they had a password that I could try to use and they told me it was a default password of 000000. They didn't think it would work though because my tablet was not a USC tablet. Well they were correct. They said the only way I could tether was to get a new smart phone through them.
I am so frustrated with all the conflicting information plus trying to figure out how these tablets really work. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I am brand new to this android tablet. I have a portable modem with US Cellular. It plugs into the UBS on my laptop. I called them and asked if I could tether between my laptop and my android tablet. The said no because I had to have a US Cell tablet. When I go to my wi-fi settings on the tablet it shows my laptop but it is secured with a password. I asked USC if they had a password that I could try to use and they told me it was a default password of 000000. They didn't think it would work though because my tablet was not a USC tablet. Well they were correct. They said the only way I could tether was to get a new smart phone through them.
I am so frustrated with all the conflicting information plus trying to figure out how these tablets really work. Any help will be greatly appreciated.