• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root The Ten Android Commandments (Learn Them, Master Them, Use Them)

Was this helpful and would you recommend this thread to someone eles?

• Yes

Votes: 4 80.0%
  • No

Votes: 1 20.0%

• Total voters

MonDillinger

Feb 11, 2015
I'm posting this because it's beyond a want, it's a need. I talk to some other developers and contributors to the forum, and we all have experienced some of the same things in terms of users. It isn't as enforced here as it is on XDA, but there are certain guidelines to a forum that need to be followed in order for there to be a successful, peaceful community. So, I'm going to list these rules, and I need everyone to read them, and from this day forward, "I didn't know" or "I'm new to Android rooting" will no longer be a viable excuse.​

Number One: ETAs

ETA stands for Estimated Time of Arrival. In the android world, it's when a user asks when the next update to a ROM/Kernel/Mod/etc. will be released. An ETA is single handedly the most annoying thing to deal with as a contributor (I can't speak for others, but I don't consider myself a "developer", simply a contributor). Developing is completely free, and donating doesn't even entitle you to an update. I personally have received 4 ETA questions in my inbox after I specifically said do not ask for ETAs, period, and other devs have received these messages as well. Long story short, don't do it, under any circumstance. The [shrewd but true] answer to when a developers project will be updated is, "when you build it or update it."

Number Two: Commenting in Threads