• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

What does this mean and should I be worried??

kevinmac1

Sep 6, 2017
I have noticed a rather strange thing with my S21 Ultra. Whenever I play a YouTube video or any kind of video from a website, I pull down the main panel screen and it shows this(See below). It automatically starts playing. What does this mean and is my phone's activity being cast on some random device? I actually have never authorized or heard of this device before. I'm no expert but I actually never cast my phone anywhere, I just use my phone for texting and calling. I'm worried that someone is hacked my phone but I have all updates for my apps and am very discipline with updating.
2022-08-25-10-33-17-AM.png

Not sure why the kodi app would randomly come on. While I do have it installed on the phone, the app itself was never running.

Whether you were or were not actively using the Kodi app isn't a factor. Simply because you don't see it on your screen does not mean that the Kodi app gets totally wiped from your phone's RAM. There are always going to be a lot of background services concurrently running in your phone's working memory, some are vital operating system services, some are from apps you used previously, it's just how Android's memory management functions. Old processes get flushed out as new processes are used.

Upvote 0
Whether you were or were not actively using the Kodi app isn't a factor. Simply because you don't see it on your screen does not mean that the Kodi app gets totally wiped from your phone's RAM. There are always going to be a lot of background services concurrently running in your phone's working memory, some are vital operating system services, some are from apps you used previously, it's just how Android's memory management functions. Old processes get flushed out as new processes are used.