• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Dropping WiFi on Galaxy S6 (and S5 with Lollipop)

Hi everyone,

I just got my new S6 yesterday and have had a horrible time with its WiFi connectivity. I noticed that intermittently all throughout the day, things like browsing, downloading, or doing anything on WiFi would be hit and miss. It is driving me crazy. Then a message near the bottom of the screen would say "You are now connected to [insert your SSID here]" This message was popping up ALL day. As if I had disconnected when I didn't. I'm a network engineer and have a solid network here and all my previous smart phones have been rock solid on it for over three years. Not even the slightest hiccup in three years! It is *not* the network as I was even sitting eight feet from the access point.

So with 5 minutes of googling, I find I am not the only one. Here are two articles about the issue:

http://forums.androidcentral.com/samsung-galaxy-s5/419768-galaxy-s5-keeps-disconnecting-wifi.html

http://droidsolve.com/samsung-galaxy-s6-wifi-disconnecting-and-dropping-how-to-fix-the-issue

So here's the deal. It looks like this boils down to the fact that these phones have Lollipop on them. S5 users said they never had any problem when running 4.4 for all that time and as soon as they migrated to 5.0, their WiFi started acting up and their battery drained way quicker than before. (Their batteries drain quickly because Smart Network Switch invokes high CPU in Lollipop) I'm having the same problem on the S6 (which also has 5.0 on it)

So the way to fix it is to DISABLE "Smart Network Switch". Well, in my cricket S6, they have REMOVED that setting!!! It's not under WiFi > Advanced!!! I can NOT fix my phone!!!