• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help T9 using a bluetooth keypad

summersab

Lurker
Jul 14, 2010
I know I know, texting while doing other things (we all know what I'm talking about) isn't safe. However, one thing I miss about the flip phone that I ditched a month ago is that I could text completely without looking by using T9. I was really good at it. With the full QWERTY on my Samsung Moment . . . no bueno. I have to look, and sometimes, it's not safe.

I had a thought the other night. Is there a way to pair a bluetooth number pad with a phone and use it for T9? I assume the number pad would have to be used upside-down (keypads are flipped from phones), but it would work wonderfully. I'm sure some software would be needed, but I'm no application developer, so I don't know where to start. Any thoughts?

This exactly what i want. A bluetooth T9 keypad for my hand so that i can dri...ummm... watch tv and type at the same time. I found twiddler which is kinda close, but its for a computer... i like how it fits into one hand and you don't have to have it on a desk. There is also frogpad or ifrog.. and they come with bluetooth, but you gotta have it on a desk. neither of these are t9 though... =(

i can type so fast on my t9. i don't want a qwerty. i want just a few buttons that i'm already used to... and i want the tactile feel of the buttons... I know that the new nokia n8 will have an on screen t9, but i don't want stuff on my screen... i want buttons...

i'm looking... and if i find anything, i'll post it here.

Upvote 0