• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Using LG G5 on Ethernet network

IMarshal

Lurker
Oct 18, 2017
I recently picked up an LG G5 to do some software development, and I was wondering if there's a way to get it to connect to the internet using my ADSL connection. I'm fairly new to the wonderful world of Android, so please bear with me.

I do realize Wi-Fi is the path of least resistance... but it's not the best option in this particular house and I have a fine Ethernet network just sitting there waiting to be used. And my old Windows Phone (ducks) is able to use it just fine.

I have a USB type C hub (a Microsoft HD-500 display dock) and a small collection of USB to Ethernet adapters. Unfortunately, the LG G5 has zero interest in recognizing any of them.

I've also played around with reverse tethering to my PC, but apparently it requires root access to even work, and even after that it doesn't even work very well.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to make this work? Like, maybe there's a turnkey way to root the device, install a custom kernel with all sorts of goodies, as well as a more recent version of Android, etc? Or maybe I just have the wrong phone?

Thanks.

For sure, but for various reasons I'm trying to keep Wi-Fi out of the equation. I'm wondering what other options exist.

I've been playing with reverse tethering, with some promising results, but still no luck. The one reverse tethering app I found that worked without requiring root (the aptly named ReverseTethering) lets me use some apps successfully with my PC's internet connection, but the Google Play Store can't seem to download apps. So... almost, but not quite.

Reactions: psionandy
Upvote 0