• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

One account with two phones

I'm a photographer, so I really want to get a Pixel 6 Pro. But I'm a woman, and those phones are HUGE. I don't have a pocket big enough, not to mention that I have no hope of using that size phone one handed.

So, my question to the universe is, why can't I have two or more phones on one account and phone number?

Before you say "free data SIMs", I'm already doing that. But I want actual cell service and the same Google account on two different phones that I use interchangeably.

I could add a family member to my account and have a second phone number, but that has it's own set of complications.

The concept of one person--two devices isn't that complicated, but it seems like there's no easy way to set it up.

Well, you certainly can have more than one phone on the same account. I have 4, but I'm not normal.

I don't think there is a way to have the same number without moving the sim card, I do quite easily.

You can keep the unused phone up to date with apps and updates through wifi or tethering, and sync any apps such as notes manually too.

Is that what you meant?

Upvote 0
why can't I have two or more phones on one account and phone number?
You can have your Google account on two or more different phones, just sign in to it on both phones.

Having the same number on two different phones would require your carrier to support it, and I don't think any phone company does that.

Upvote 0
Your best bet for this is an app like Dingtone that allows up to 5 devices to share a number.

I have actually had more than that active on a single line before, but I have had the number for a long time, so I may be 'grandfathered' in somehow.

Anyway, it is free (you can purchase more credits if you like) if you watch a few short ads each day, and there are other ways to earn credits as well.